News Ticker


The Parliament passed Academy of Scientific and Innovative Research Act in 2012 for the purpose of facilitating the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research to initiate an Academy. This Academy will award post graduate as well as PhD degree subsequent to some alterations. During the preliminary stages, Rajya Sabha proposed some amendments to the Academy of Scientific and Innovative Research Bill, 2011 which suggests that Academy shall not call upon central laws to reject reservations to students belonging to Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribes. This suggestion was approved by Lok Sabha as well. The Act provides for the constitution of an Academy with an intention to progress learning and action of research related with science and technology. This can be done with the assistance of CSIR and can announce the institution as the ‘Academy of Scientific and Innovative Research’. The institution is considered to be of national importance and considered accordingly. The fundamental goal behind the establishment of such an academy is to bring to an end brain drain and assist research in science and technology all over the nation.

According to the Act, the Academy of Scientific and Innovative Research was constituted in 2010 which permits its research to be administered by a centralized institution. The Act provides the Academy to be ‘Institute of National Importance’. On June 17, 2010, the Academy was constituted by a Government of India resolution. The Act fundamentally aims to advance research facilities in alliance with Council of Scientific and Industrial Research or CSIR in India. The Act provides for the appointment of a Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson and such other members for its smooth functioning. At present, the Academy is a type of meta-University with various study centers across the world. The amendment to the Act provides that the Central Educational Institutions (Reservation in Admission) Act, 2006 will not apply in case of Academy.

Some of the objects of the Academy as provided under the Act are to disseminate progressive understanding in science and technology by presenting teaching as well as skills for research in the areas of learning, assume inter-disciplinary research and learning, carry out courses on different subjects like mathematical sciences, life sciences, engineering, computational sciences, medical sciences, law, humanities etc, take suitable means for advancement in teaching and studies and formulate an ambience for studying and fellowship in progressive science and technology in place pointing on marks for assessment. The Academy also aims to educate and provide training in scientific areas, constitute reputed educational institutions within India or abroad. The Academy shall give instructions and facilitate research in various fields of learning, frame administrative design and conclude on the area of appointment, recruitment, decide on compensation and contractual liabilities. The Academy grants diplomas, degrees and certificates and conduct examinations.

Additionally, the Act provides that the Academy shall formulate Statutes, rules as well as Ordinances and make alterations to these laws. It can arrange extramural learning, working out and additional services and grant honorary degrees and doctoral degrees. The authorities of the Academy under the Act are Board, Senate, Director, Board of Studies and other authorities provided under the statute. The Board of Governors shall consist of Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson and other ex-officio members from various central institutions as given in the Act. The Chairperson is appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Select Committee. The members are entitled to allowances provided under the statute and the Chairperson is eligible to get a salary according to the provisions of the enactment. The members are appointed for a term of four years without the eligibility of re-appointment. Hence, the Act has opened the way for an academy that gives progressive facilities for research in the field of science and technology.