News Ticker

The Central Sanskrit Universities Act 2020.

Sanskrit is one of the greatest contribution given by India among languages. It was once considered as scared language in India and main medium of communication between people were Sanskrit language. It was considered as toughest language to be learnt as it could be handled and communicated only by intelligent comparing to the indigenous or regional languages. In ancient India people who were considered as upper class had the privilege to communicate inn Sanskrit. By the passage of time due to the usage of Sanskrit was limited to certain privileged sections it wasn’t popularized and faced ultimate extinction in widespread usage and it was considered as dead language. The Government of India as a part of revival of dead languages has enacted The Central Sanskrit Universities act 2020 in 25th march with 47 sections and two schedules.

The main objective of the Act is to incorporate all universities in the country for further teaching and research in Sanskrit and establish such institutes for promoting and developing Sanskrit language or for any matters connected with. Section 2 of the act states the definition clauses and section 3 enumerates the establishment of the three separate Central Universities subject to the provisions of the act as The Rashritya Sanskrit Sansthan in New Delhi, Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri Rashtriya Vidya Peeth, In New Delhi and Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth in Tirupati and all these Universities are established as body corporate. The objects of the Universities are stated in section 5 of the act for the purpose of providing all facilities for imparting research, instructional and extension facilities for promotion of Sanskrit language, promoting innovative methods in teaching and learning and for promoting and training manpower to preserve and promote Sanskrit and Sanskrit Traditional subjects with interdisciplinary studies and research as required form time to time.

Section 6 elaborately states the power of the Universities conferred under the act including power to grant diplomas, certificate, degrees, academic designations, training, extension services, any suitable measures for Sanskrit promotion, distance promotion systems, appointment of faculties, to confer autonomous status on college or institutions, to lay down conditions for code of conduct, admission of students, mobility of faculty, creating semester system, entering agreement with other universities and academic institutions for joint degree programs.
Section 29 of the act confers power to make ordinances in the admission of students, the medium of instruction and examination, award of degrees, the conditions for the award of fellowship, scholar ships and student ships.

Section34 deals with the condition of the service of the employees and section 35 deals with procedure of arbitration and appeal for disciplinary action against students and section 36 gives the right to appeal. Section 45 deals with the transitional powers of the universities. Section 47 of the Act confers powers to the university in constitution of committees. The first schedule gives the details of the campuses subject to the Act and the second schedule gives the statutes of the university.

The act is a laudable effort from Government for promotion of language to make it familiar with the new generations about its value and knowledge.

Leave a Reply