IPL Spot Fixing: Name of BCCI President Revealed by SC

The name of four persons related with the Indian cricket was stated by the Supreme Court recently. The names of N Srinivasan, ICC chairman and BCCI president, Sundar, IPL chief operating officer, Gurunath Meiyappan, Chennai Super Kings official and Raj Kundra, Rajasthan Royals co-owner were included in the list. This was related with the report filed under the IPL spot fixing case that took place in 2013. The Court opined that the case consisted of many transgressions. Notice was send to all the four people by the Court and the bench embraced of Justice T S Thakur and F M Kalifullah who disclosed the names of these persons.

The Court said that the Mudgal report can be over viewed by the advocates for both parties to frame the arguments accordingly at the next posting which is decided in 24th of this November. The Mudgal report was submitted to the Court in the first week of November which hauled up the names of some famous persons after investigating their conduct and behavior. The report consisted of the characters of the players and the other persons excluding the players. The other players were termed as ‘non-playing actors in the drama’ by hon’ble Justice Thakur. The Court withheld the names of three cricketers who were by mistake taken by the Court.

Nevertheless, the names of all the four non-cricketers were listed and permitted to give redacted description of the report to the persons who are blacked out to raise their defense arguments. They were given the opportunity to file objection to the report within four days against the conclusion reached by the committee. The Council appearing for the BCCI advocate enquired to the Court whether Srinivasan is permitted to contest in the BCCI election to be held on 20th of November. But the Court refused to give clear answer to the enquiry until the case is decided. The case came before the Court in June, 2013 when the IPL corruption case was raised by Verma against the conflict of interest with regard to the two-member inquiry panel for BCCI.

The panel was held to be against law by the High Court of Bombay and against the order, CAB initiated petition before the Apex Court alleging that the High Court ought to have proposed new methods to investigate corruption cases. The Supreme Court therefore appointed committee consisting of three members with Justice Mukul Mudgal as the Chairman. The other members included additional solicitor general L Nageswara Rao and Nilay Dutta to investigate charges which was filed not in favor of Meiyappan who is the owner of India Cements and Rajasthan Royals team, Jaipur IPL Cricket Private Ltd.