News Ticker

The Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (Merger of Union Territories) Act, 2019

India is unique with its merging of versatile cultures as it has different states and union territories. The Indian states are administered by State Government in the internal state affairs but the administrative decisions are also subject to the consultation and approval of the Central Government. In Union Territories according to Article 239 of Indian constitution President of India is the Chief administrator. He acts through the administrator appointed by him. The Central Government appoints advisors to advise the Administrator. In order to unify several administrative functions on different scattered union Territories in the country The Dadra and Nagar Haveli Daman and Diu (Merger of Union Territories Act) 2019 was enacted on 9th December 2019 with 7 parts and 23 sections.

Part 2 of the act states merging of Dadra and Nagar Haveli Daman and Diu with respect to the amendment made in Article 240 and First schedule of the constitution. The Bombay High court Jurisdiction is extended on the merged Union Territories as per part four of the act. Part 5 of the Act details the assets and liabilities of the proposed Union Territories for merging where the immovable property including land and goods except currency notes, coins and bank notes, cash balance in treasuries, assets and liabilities of existing union territories’ undertakings, tax arrears, refund of excess tax collection are vested in merged union territories on or after the commencement of the Act.

The legal proceedings in any tribunal, court of law other than high court and transfer of pending proceedings continued to be in force on the merged Union territories jurisdiction on or before the commencement of the Act subject to the provisions of the act. The Central Government as per section 19 by order can make adaptations or modifications before the expiration of the appointed day on concerning laws in the Merged Union Territories from time to time. Section21 and section22 deals with the consistency of provisions of the new enactment with other existing laws and Removal of inconsistent provisions. The removal of any inconsistent provisions is published on Gazate by the President of India. The implementation or enforcement of the Law is vested in the territory of Dadra Nagar Haveli Daman and Diu Police.

The act also empowers representation in Lok sabha for two Lok sabha seats from the merged Union Territories instead of the previous one seat of representation. Persons who were employed for their services in the existing Territories will be continued in the merged Territories and the central Government makes the final allotment of their services in the merged territories. The service is not applicable to All India service personnel’s Including Indian Administrative Services, Indian Police Service and Indian Forest Service and delegated persons from any other states.

The merging of the any states or Union Territories ultimately aims for the smooth and proper internal affairs or functions of these regions under one constituency and Administrative strategy that would unify these regions without the conflict of various administrative policies and laws.

Leave a Reply